Garments for animating in Poser

Is Poser your favorite? Having issues using MD with Poser? Ask for help or help others here.
animei

Garments for animating in Poser

Post by animei » Mon Jul 24, 2017 11:29 pm

Hey guys, I'm new to this MD * Poser affair...

After seeing a lot of tutorials that cover the creation of garments for still images (using posed figures exported from poser), I was wondering if there's a way to bring garments to Poser as conforming clothes to use in animation inside Poser... as for now, my garments won't follow my figure's poses and general moves... :cry:

I'm not yet too familiar with all the processes on both applications so if anyone could be really descriptive (as in step-by-step) I'd much appreciate it!

Rosemaryr
VIP
VIP

Re: Garments for animating in Poser

Post by Rosemaryr » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:05 pm

I would suggest (depending on which version of Poser you have) doing it within Poser, or with other available secondary programs/text editors. MD won't be able to set up the conforming structures that Poser uses.
There are a number of tutorials for earlier versions of Poser, but I do know that the last few versions of Poser have what is called the Fitting Room that supposedly allows for making a mesh conforming to a given figure.

animei

Post by animei » Wed Jul 26, 2017 4:21 pm

I'm on Poser 11 Pro working with The Kids 4, trying to make a Hindu little girl...
I realized that maybe the best option will really be the dynamic clothe as I'm modelling a Sarree, indian female outfit, which has some flowy parts, scarf-y like... (am I right about this conclusion?)
But I just can't seem to make the outfit follow the figure's motion...

Here's my workflow:

I created the garment in MD and exported it as obj.
Imported .obj to Poser and opened Cloth Room...
in Cloth Room:

1. I started a new simulation
2.Selected Prop to Clothify and asked it to collide against the Kids 4 figure